Archive

Archive for the ‘antimicrobial’ Category

Antimicrobial Copper Products – A New Weapon in the Fight Against Hospital-Acquired Infections (Part 2)

May 24th, 2013 No comments

By Wilton Moran, Copper Development Association (CDA) Project Engineer

When you think of hospital-acquired infections, does copper come to mind? If you work in a hospital setting, Antimicrobial Copper metal surfaces are your new weapon in the fight against hospital-acquired infections (HAIs).

 

Read more…

Categories: antimicrobial Tags:

Copper Kills Antibiotic-Resistant “Nightmare Bacteria” (Part 1)

May 23rd, 2013 1 comment

By Wilton Moran, Copper Development Association (CDA) Project Engineer

American hospital patients now are increasingly at risk of infection from a new form of “superbugs” called carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae – or CRE.  Dr. Tom Frieden, director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), calls CRE “nightmare bacteria” and he’s right. In the last 10 years, the proportion of Enterobacteriaceae that were carbapenem-resistent, quadrupled from 1.2% in 2001 to 4.2% in 2011.

Read more…

Categories: antimicrobial Tags:

Copper’s Inherent Ability to Kill Bugs

March 13th, 2013 No comments

By Victoria Prather, Manager, Communications CDA

During this terrible cold and flu season, everyone has been very leery about touching surfaces or shaking hands –and who can blame them? We hear about constant outbreaks of so many different ailments and now, “super bugs” that are resistant to treatments every day, all over the news. Read more…

Categories: antimicrobial, Health & Science Tags:

Join Us for a Free Webinar: Antimicrobial Copper Surfaces A Designer’s New Weapon in the Fight Against Hospital-Acquired Infections

November 11th, 2012 No comments

By Wilton Moran, Copper Development Association (CDA) Project Engineer

We have rescheduled the “Benefits of Antimicrobial Copper Surfaces” webinar to Tuesday, November 13th at 1:00 p.m. EST/noon CST/11:00 a.m. MST/10:00 a.m. PST

Sign up by clicking HERE for the Antimicrobial Copper Webinar.

We’re excited to share the latest news about the benefits of Antimicrobial Copper surfaces, products that are proven to kill disease-causing bacteria.* One out of 20 hospital patients contracts a hospital-acquired infection and there’s growing evidence that Antimicrobial Copper surfaces kill the bacteria that cause these infections, and supplement infection control practices in health care settings.
Read more…

Categories: antimicrobial Tags:

Copper Gets Noticed Early on TODAY

October 26th, 2012 No comments

By Victoria Prather, Manager, Communications CDA

The Antimicrobial Copper team hits the pre-dawn NYC streets to get a prime spot for copper on the TODAY show.                                             

Visiting the TODAY show to become part of the outdoor audience is a staple of the tourist visit to NYC, but it is also an effective marketing tactic. The Antimicrobial Copper public relations team arrived early — at 4 a.m. to wait in line in order to secure a prime location in Rockefeller Plaza. Read more…

Categories: antimicrobial Tags:

Antimicrobial Copper: Your New Weapon in the Fight Against Hospital-Acquired Infections (HAIs)

September 8th, 2012 No comments

Join us for a Free Interactive Webinar with a Live Q&A, Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2012

Time: 8 a.m. Pacific/10 a.m. Central/11 a.m. Eastern

Free registration: ModernHealthcare.com/Copper2
Read more…

Categories: antimicrobial Tags: